Saturday, August 1, 2009

San Francisco Marathon Finisher Report



I finished!!!! I'm almost surprised at myself. And anyone who knows me would be surprised that that was my goal - to finish. In 2007 it was all about qualifying for Boston. And I did it. And I ran Boston. But last week I just wanted to get my medal! The DNF in really got to me, I guess.

The day started EARLY. 5:30 was the official start time, but my wave started at 5:53 and I was happy to have a few extra minutes of sleep. The morning was a typical San Francisco morning, cool, damp, a little misty. Perfect running weather.

I started strong. At mile 2 I was met by my dear friends Russ and Aylene, my number one fan (my hubby) and our puppy Slugger. That made me feel good, even though I already was feeling good, just love support. I had passed the pace group I thought I'd be running with, 3:50 and was running a good 8:30 pace up to the bridge and back. This was a tough pace to keep due to all the hills, but I was pushed by all the running buddies I had on this particular morning. Normally its just me in my head. After the bridge and a 2 minute pee stop, it was down hill for nearly a mile. Now some runners were just charging, but I could already feel it in my knees and tried to take it steady.

At mile 11 I was greeted again by my NOF (number one fan) and Slugger. That made me feel good and I gave them both kisses. After mile 12 we headed into Golden Gate Park. At this point the first half marathoners split from the full marathoners, and the course started to thin out. I felt myslef running alone again, but did associate myself with one really tall guy, and a guy wearing a grean Ireland T-shirt. 6 miles through the park gets a little boring and for some reason I think it was all uphill. Just before heading out of the park I saw my pace group and tried to keep up with them...I couldn't.

Mile 19 was Haight Ashury. Just out of the park is flat with some downhill just ahead. This was the point that the elite 2nd half marathoners flew by me. Ugh, that was tough...I felt like I needed everyone to know they just started and I had already run nearly 20 miles. But soon enough I was greeted by my NOF and Sluggies. Big kisses again, and I was tempted to hang back and grab a coffee with them, but NOF encouraged me to get going.

This is when I started to fall apart, big time. Everything hurt, from the tips of my fingers to the tips of my toes. I knew I needed to make it to at least 20 because my brother would be there, and I didn't want to look wimpy in front of him. But man, I just started slowing down. The tall guy from the park must have been doing okay, because I never saw him again, but the Irish guy must have been hurting as much as I was. He was walking. But I couldn't walk...until I passed Duboce. There I saw the big tall blond waving away. I think he might be my NTF (number two fan). He has stood in that very spot for the last 3 years as I've run by. He said " you are 10 minutes late, what are you doing the half or something". Pissed me off, but then again, he's never run a marathon.

From there on out it was a mind game. I kept telling myslef, "one more mile...you can make it one more mile". I tried walking at about mile 24 and it was worse than running, so I figured I'd better just go. And I did. But man that was a feat. You just try to talk yourself into the fact that this will be over soon, and that the pain is only momentary, but its hard to convince yourself that you won't just fall over.

As the ballpark approached I knew I could bring it home. Normally this would be where I'd try to pick up the pace, but I didn't have anything in me. Was it because I didn't use GU? Was it because I didn't drink Cytomax or Gatorade? Who knows....Just underneath the Bay Bridge I saw NOF, Slugger, Carl, Russ & Aylene. They were cheering and I waved weakly. "I am so close" I thought. And I was. And I ran, or jogged, or moved...not really sure, but I did cross the finish line and I was on two feet. I finished. I got my medal. My time was 4:02.

I had a day of recovery. My body ached and this was the first time I didn't completely pig out for 24hours. I've been feeling pretty good, but still haven't gone out for that "follow-up" run. Maybe tomorrow.

No comments:

Post a Comment